Collected Short Stories

Katherine Mansfield

"The pleasure of all reading is doubled when one lives with another who shares the same books."

With an Introduction and Notes by Professor Stephen Arkin, San Francisco State University.

Katherine Mansfield is widely regarded as a writer who helped create the modern short story. Born in Wellington, New Zealand in 1888, she came to London in 1903 to attend Queen's College and returned permanently in 1908. her first book of stories, In a German Pension, appeared in 1911, and she went on to write and publish an extraordinary body of work. This edition of The Collected Stories brings together all of the stories that Mansfield had written up until her death in January of 1923.

With an introduction and head-notes, this volume allows the reader to become familiar with the complete range of Mansfield's work from the early, satirical stories set in Bavaria, through the luminous recollections of her childhood in New Zealand, and through the mature, deeply felt stories of her last years. Admired by Virginia Woolf in her lifetime and by many writers since her death, Katherine Mansfield is one of the great literary artists of the twentieth century.

Short stories include:

  • Bliss
  • Prelude
  • Je ne parle pas français
  • The Wind Blows
  • Psychology
  • Pictures
  • The Man Without a Temperament
  • Mr Reginald Peacock's Day
  • Sun and Moon
  • Feuille d'Album
  • A Dill Pickle
  • The Little Governess
  • The Garden Party
  • At The Bay
  • The Daughters of the Late Colonel
  • Mr and Mrs Dove
  • Life of Ma Parker
  • Marriage à la Mode
  • The Voyage
  • Miss Brill
  • Her First Ball
  • The Singing Lesson
  • The Stranger
  • The Doll's House
  • A Cup of Tea
  • The Fly
  • The Canary
  • Something Childish But Very Natural
  • The Tiredness of Rosabel
  • How Pearl Button Was Kidnapped
  • The Woman at the Store
  • Millie
  • An Indiscreet Journey

And many more…

ISBN: 9781840222654
PRICE: £2.50
PAGES: 688